Skip to content

Chocolate and Ice Cream!!

July 17, 2011

Wishing you a very Merry Christmas!

Non recipe of the week, (Just a fun Tidbit on CHOCOLATE) Tis the season 🙂

One of my favourites Green & Black’s organic fair trade chocolate.

Check out the tasting guide !

I love the smoothness and richness of this chocolate, 🙂

 

I have to admit, I have a major sweet tooth. ( I think all the Fitters know this by now ! ) It’s hard for me to avoid desserts like ice cream and CHOCOLATE (Maybe you can relate?).

But luckily, I don’t have to avoid these foods. You see, I’ve found a great alternative.

For dessert, I simply have a square of dark chocolate to settle my sweet tooth. What’s more, dark chocolate also helps to burn a little belly fat and it can boost your overall health. What you say!?

And no, that is not a typo. The fact is, dark chocolate is loaded with antioxidants (nearly eight times the number found in strawberries), and it contains a fat-fighting ingredient called theobromine that, studies indicate, can have a positive effect on fat burning.

Dark chocolate also contains a nice dose of oleic acid, which is a monounsaturated fat, which studies have found, can actually help to burn belly fat specifically. Remember eat fat lose fat J (those of you low carbing)

When choosing a dark chocolate, make sure to choose the 70% or higher  cocoa levels for best results. (I now enjoy 85% no problem) They have less sugar and more theobromine and oleic acid. And, of course, don’t over indulge! A square or two a day works best.

Now when it comes to satisfying my sweet tooth for ice cream, I use another delicious and nutritious alternative;

 Coconut milk!

In your blender blend up frozen berries or dark chocolate shavings, organic cocnut milk (Save On Foods)!, dash of cinnamon, a tsp raw honey, put in a container that you can freeze, check on it periodically and stir up until you get the desired consistency …. Mmmm mmmm!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

