Skip to content

Weekly Organic Delivery!

December 10, 2010

Weekly Organic Delivery!

My class knows me by now that I truly believe in buying as organic as I can.
 
I found a great company that delivers right to my door once a week! I enjoy opening my bin and seeing all the bright and fresh colors of the organic foods.
 
The beauty of BlueMoon organics is I can add and delete any items I wish, so I get to create the bin of my choosing, since being Primal in my eating as you can see it is mainly vegetables 🙂
 
  • Organic food is continually growing in popularity as we realize the benefits of unadulterated, fresh and local food. It only makes sense that using fewer pesticides and other toxins benefit not only our bodies but our environment. However, is organic food actually more nutritious? Research shows that some organic produce is superior nutritionally to non-organic foods.

    One of the reasons that organic food is more nutritious is because it’s higher in antioxidants and actually contains a wider variety of these powerful phytonutrients. This is because the plants must fight off pests and disease on their own without pesticides or other artificial means. The plants develop these antioxidants much as the human body increases white blood cells at the threat of disease or illness.

    Organic food also contains more vitamins than non-organic, most specifically Vitamin C. It’s not certain why this is true, but it’s possible that pesticides and other ‘traditional” practices prevent produce from developing their maximum nutritional potential.

    Freshness is also vital in making sure that produce and other foods retain as many nutrients as possible. Organic food is generally sold in local regions and for that reason retains a freshness that most supermarket produce cannot provide. Eating locally, seasonally, and regionally is becoming not only more popular but also more realistic as the demand increases for fresh, local and organic food.

    As a matter of course organic produce and food do not contain pesticide residue. Many research studies over the years have shown that pesticide residue is hard to cleanse from the human body, and may indeed build up over time to exceedingly toxic levels. This can be especially harmful in children and those with compromised immune systems.

The pricing in regards to organic in my opinion over the years has been declining and becoming more affordable, yes still more costly, however the health benefits in my opinion will out way the cos.

I also enjoy supporting as many local businesses as well in regards to my food consumption, as best as I can.

I recall in the movie Food Inc. the commentator (Michael Pollan) saying; ”  Every time we shop we are voting” that truly stuck with me and made sense, the more of us that take the stand on supporting local organic farmer’s the more aware (I think) our governments will become on knowing WHAT WE WANT 🙂

Here’s to your health and wellbeing, try some organic produce today! Get it delivered, get it at your local supermarket or Farmer’s market….

Your coach,

Michelle

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2010 10:51 pm

    Thanks for checking out my site! Yours is looking good. Keep it up! If you’ve recipes I can source to you is that OK? Thanks, cookingwithdee.net Cheers, Dee

  2. February 21, 2011 6:48 pm

    are the owners names kelly and I think his is boris or something

Leave a Reply

